I received my Ph.D from Department of Politics at Princeton University in August 2015. In the fall, I will be the Scholar-in-Residence in the Department of Political Science at the University of Georgia.

My work bridges the fields of American politics and political theory by examining American political history and the institutions and processes of American politics through the analytical and normative lenses of political theory. My research and teaching deliberately blur the distinction between political thought and action, emphasizing the philosophical foundations of politics as well as the implications of political action for political theory.

In addition to American political thought, I have broad interests in the history of political thought (especially the thought of Thomas Hobbes), contemporary democratic theory (especially participatory democracy), American Political Development, urban and local politics, and contemporary American political culture.

My work is eclectic both substantively and methodologically. I utilize the methods of traditional social science, American Political Development (including historical institutionalism), analytical philosophy, and political theory. Substantively, I draw on political, social, and intellectual history, human geography, social theory, and political science. In addition to political theory and political science, I have training in economics and philosophy.

